The very first Embark Volunteer Awards was held at the Lakshman Kadirgama Institute in commemoration of International Volunteers’ Day. The event recognized and celebrated passionate volunteers, while creating an inspirational platform for them to share their valuable experiences with others. Guests at the event included; Otara Gunewardene, Sharmini Ratnayake, Mrs Irangani De Silva, Dr. Chamith Nanayakkara, Kusum Salgado and Lalani Perera.

Special award winners of the Embark volunteer awards are;

  • Best Foster Volunteer – Shenal Burkey
  • Most Passionate Volunteer- Maleesha Gunawardena
  • Volunteer with Best Leadership Attributes – Shaun De Hoedt
  • Most Inspiring Volunteer – Carolyn Mathangaweera